Jose B. Raps on the WPA Outcomes


 

Rhetorical Knowledge

The main Uses of writing in their fields

Coming into English 102 I did not know what to expect from the class and from the work I had ahead of me, I was more nervous than excited I must say mainly because I did not know what was to come. Right after we started to put our minds to work and we started to focus more on writing I really started to open my mind and ears to what Dr. Vassett had to say, but what really caught my attention was that writing is all around us from the moment we wake up and as the day progressive it is only used more and more. This is when I learned that writing has a purpose and there is several  fields to it from wring as a student, writing as a professional, as a citizen or as a family member or friend this really help to understand that writing has its own langue depending on the circumstance and intentions of what is being written.

Adopt appropriate voice, tone, and level of formality

As we started to learn about tone and voice and the different levels of formality I learned that the voice to writing has to have a personality or else it’s just a lot of words that where written down it ads corrector to the reader and it helps set a tone by giving it a certain attitude which helps the reader by grasping their attention and keeping the interest level till the end.

 Critical thinking, reading, and writing

   Use writing and reading for inquiry, learning, thinking, and communicating-

Before this class I never really saw the purpose of people that are constantly reading or just researching things online but I can see why they are always trying to learn something besides the fact that the act of reading and writing keeps your mind busy and helps to build good communication skills and keeps you constantly thinking. I understand that learning and thinking come hand in hand and it is always important to not believe what people say or just read of from Google, I started to pay more attention to what people talk about and I am constantly questioning what other tell me. I would guess that it all comes from doing all the research and reading from all this semester.  

            Integrate their own ideas with those of others-

Doing a research paper was one of the hardest tasks I encountered this semester. It was hard to put my ideas in others perspective so they would understand what I was trying to communicate across my papers. But once I started to get the point of the actual process of researching, it also helped to clear out what others were trying to tell me, others work started to become a tool that I can use to prove my purpose and to back up what my ideas had to say and at the same time it helps to educate by giving credit to others work.

\

Process

            Be aware that it usually takes multiple drafts to create and complete a successful text-

Starting out the semester reading “Shitty Draft” really helped to be aware that we all have a writing process and it is all different for others not one is the same. Writing takes time and it is not heaven sent, you don’t just sit down and start writing an “A “ paper, one must work hard and do the research and  still work on multiple drafts to create and complete a successful draft, I can see the difference from the beginning of the semester to today, I started to also learn that it takes me a good 1 hours just free writing before I can sit down and attempt to do my first draft and it really helps to know that it will only get better after the it has been revised by a friend or family member before I can start my second draft , it really is up to the writer to decide when the work is done and having multiple drafts is no surprise to my writing process.

            Understand writing as an open process that permits writers to use later invention and re-thinking to revise their work- writing is really never personal if you think about it , at the begging I really did not want people reading what I had to say in my papers I know it sounds silly but I thought that only Dr. Vassett would be the only one reading our work but I started to see why it was so important to share what I had to say specially if I wanted to get a good grade on the paper, the more let others revise my work and give me feedback the more ideas I would get and the better it help structure my paper. It also helped to break down my writing and use invention time to really work hard on my audience and sometimes bringing back old ideas to help with the new.

Knowledge of Conventions

            Learn common formats for different kinds or texts-

It sounds very simple but I have always had problems with format, I learned that for different types of work there is going to be different types of guide lines one must fallow for example one must fallow different genres for each different texts and from a letter, to a blog and also knowing the limitations of the work that you are producing and knowing the difference of writing style helps to separate audience from professional, civil and personal.

            Practice appropriate means of documenting their work-

At first I really did not think that plagiarizing was such a big deal but then I really learned why it is so important to use proper documentation on all my work and to give proper created to other work. It’s important to give credit to the different sources by fallowing proper use of documentation styles that we must fallow to credit work properly , I had problems with this in my first paper but saw that it was more easy as I got used to credit others work, I started to send myself emails with of the source and would put all of the emails in the different folder and when it came time to work cite my paper I would have all of the information ready to be set on MLA format, it helps to have a nice guide line to fallow and know that it is in the correct format.

Composing in Electronic Environments

            Use electronic environments for drafting, reviewing, revising, editing, and sharing texts-

After the first paper we did I started to see that the computer lab was going to be my best friend for the remaining of my semester. At first it was difficult to adjust to doing a lot my work on a computer, I don’t have a computer at home so I found it hard to sit down and write for three hours, it’s easy to see why we have all of the technology and by using the electronic means of communication I found myself working faster and getting used to using my email a lot more from sending a pear review by email to writing and researching information for my papers.

            How to engage in the electronic research and composing process common in their fields-

When working on a paper and doing research I found it to be more fun and interesting to look up research and put it to the side as I would write about it and then use the source and to back up my information. i quickly found out that doing research was its own section when it comes to my writing process, I found out that doing the research and looking for the best quotes or even the source is hard work but at the end it pays off the see the words flow on the paper.

About Rochelle Foulk

Author and psychology student, currently attending ASU, my passion is writing and reappropriation of goods. I own and operate two online businesses through Etsy and Amazon called Rock's Treasure's. Current projects are blog contributer for www.marketingforgurus.com and co-author of The Silent Wars with Dee Soumala, available 2014. Creating a better world is my life's pursuit.
This entry was posted in English 102, WPA Outcomes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment