Michael P.


Rhetorical Knowledge

  • Focus on a Purpose – In the beginning of the year I thought that focusing on a purpose would be easy. I found out that it wasn’t when I was sitting, looking at a blank word document on my laptop. Upon reading our McGraw – Hill Guide book, it all came into place. I learned that there are many purposes to focus on and if one of my sentences does not contribute to that specific purpose, I need to either delete it or revise it.

 

  • Respond to the Needs of Different Audiences – This year in English 102 I learned that all papers need to focus on what their audience is going to be. Before, I never gave it any thought until Dr. Vassett put it into perspective for me. I need to think about what my audience is for each writing assignment I come across now or in the future. For me, it really made my writing process a lot easier.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             Thinking,

    Critical Thinkink,Reading, and Writing

  • Understanding a writing assignment as a series of tasks, including finding, evaluating, analyzing, and synthesizing appropriate primary and secondary sources – Before I started English 102, I had never put any real effort into a paper. I only did a minimum amount of research and never thought of checking the ethos of any source I used. Now, whenever I write a paper I always make sure my sources are credible.
  • Integrate their own ideas with those of others – During the semester I liked how we all could throw out our ideas during class time. I learned a lot of great ideas from others as well as sharing some. I was able to take constructive criticism and tried my best to give it to those that needed it.

 

Processes

  • Be aware that it usually takes multiple drafts to create and complete a successful text – I had a huge problem with this when I first started the course. I would always write one paper. I would use that paper for my first draft as well as my final draft. On few occasions I would edit my rough draft. I learned that first drafts can be shitty as long as I work on editing it and making a piece of work that I am truly proud of.
  • Develop flexible strategies for generating, revising, editing, and proofreading – In my 101 class my teacher didn’t teach us to have a writing process. I learned in 102 that having a certain process is very, very beneficial to me. I start with one rough draft, and then have someone read it and give me some constructive feedback. From then on I create multiple drafts of what I think will work and choose the one I like best.

 Knowledge of Conventions

  • Practice appropriate means of documenting their work –

    Its All Good

    Throughout the semester I learned how to properly document my work. I never really gave it much thought until Dr. Vassett stressed the importance of it. I didn’t know it was so important to give credit when credit was due. I’m really glad I learned so I don’t get accused of plagiarism.

  • Control such surface features as syntax, grammar, punctuation, and spelling – I liked how we had the peer reviews so that other people had the chance to correct any misspellings if I missed them. I also learned to find different words for the same meanings, other than repeating the same word over and over.

 Composing in Electronic Environments

  • Use electronic environments for drafting, reviewing, revising, editing, and sharing texts – When writing every one of my papers I was able to use my laptop. It makes it so much easier to write when you have Microsoft Word correcting any mistakes I made or having the internet so easily accessible to me to research anything I need to at the time. I’m really happy that this type of technology is available, as I’m sure everyone else is.
  • Locate, evaluate, organize, and use research material collected from electronic sources, including scholarly library databases; other official databases and informal electronic networks and internet sources – In almost every one of my papers I was able to use the MCC online library to find scholarly sources. That made things so much easier for me. I can’t say it enough how happy I am to have the privilege to use those kinds of resources.

 

 

About Rochelle Foulk

Author and psychology student, currently attending ASU, my passion is writing and reappropriation of goods. I own and operate two online businesses through Etsy and Amazon called Rock's Treasure's. Current projects are blog contributer for www.marketingforgurus.com and co-author of The Silent Wars with Dee Soumala, available 2014. Creating a better world is my life's pursuit.
This entry was posted in English 101, English 102, Resources, WPA Outcomes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Michael P.

  1. Pingback: Emily contemplates her Experience in English 102 | The Doctor's Rhetoric

Leave a comment